Songhall Honors Mick Jones with Election to the Songwriters Hall Of Fame

The Songwriters Hall of Fame announced today that Mick Jones and Lou Gramm will become the latest inductees of the Songwriters Hall of Fame at the organization’s 44th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner. The star-studded induction event is slated for Thursday, June 13th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City

Mick’s collective body of compositions spans almost five decades.  He  began his songwriting career in France in the 1960’s, writing three #1 singles for French pop star Johnny Hallyday.  After moving to the US in the 1970’s, he wrote “Feels Like The First Time,” which reached #4 on the charts, serving as the first of a long list of hits he wrote or co-wrote with Gramm for Foreigner.

A multi-talented and multi-dimensional “musician’s musician,” Jones has also written songs such as “Bad Love” with Eric Clapton and “Dreamer” with Ozzy Osbourne, and produced records for others including Billy Joel’s Stormfront and Van Halen’s  5150. A Grammy and Golden Globe-nominated songwriter, Jones is the winner of the prestigious British Ivor Novello Songwriter award for “The Flame still Burns,” a song written for the film Still Crazy.

“The most fulfilling thing about songwriting is creating music that inspires so much love and hope,” says Jones. “I’m honored to have The Songwriters Hall of Fame recognize me for doing one of the things I love most.”

The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships. Out of the tens of thousands of songwriters of our era, there are fewer than 400 inductees who make up the impressive roster enshrined in the Hall of Fame. The list includes Desmond Child, Paul Williams, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, Bob Dylan, Isaac Hayes and David Porter, Carole King,  Paul Simon, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, Bruce Springsteen, Curtis Mayfield, Jim Croce, Phil Collins,  Jimmy Webb, Van Morrison, Kris Kristofferson, Dolly Parton, Diane Warren, Leonard Cohen and Bob Seger among many others.

New York Times article